I knew this detox bootcamp would be a big change. I knew it would be hard going through caffeine and sugar withdrawal. I prepared myself mentally or I thought I did. I HAD NO CLUE. This week has been very difficult and very discouraging. I have starved. My tummy has growled and growled. I have cried. I have wanted to sleep around the clock, impossible to do when you have a busy 2-year-old. I have stood on the scale and almost pulled out my frizzy red hair. I have loved drinking my apple cinnamon shake and chocolate coconut shake. I have gotten nauseated with all this water sloshing around my tummy. Really, if we had to drink so much water to be healthy and stay alive, why doesn't it taste better?! I have taken my fizzies and felt my brain snap to awareness, but my body still stubbornly says, "Go back to bed." The lemon Fit Chew is very good and tastes like a chewy Lemonhead and in the afternoon, I have enjoyed it. It is sweet and sour so it takes away a little bit of the sugar craving.
I have hated drinking the detox tea. I have discovered I am very partial to strong tea, not tea that tastes like water with a faint mint tea flavor. Being desperate, I have experimented with that detox tea putting a splash of almond milk, vanilla extract and liquid Stevia. I can finally tolerate it now that I have found that combination. Drinking it makes me miss good tea like the strawberry-peach tea with the wonderful name of Summer Regatta. It's my favorite tea and the only place that sells it is in San Jose, California at Lisa's Tea Treasures. The detox tea can't compare, but it is necessary.
I have experimented in the kitchen making my first gluten-free, dairy-free chicken spinach pizza. Surprisingly, it was good. It certainly wasn't an extra cheesy, pepperoni, jalapeno, olive and pinapple pizza, but it was satisfying. I never thought I would ever eat, much less like, dairy-free cheese. It is a little weird and there is a different smell to it, but melted on a brown rice tortilla or pizza, it's okay. I used mozzarella shreds by Daiya for the pizza.
I ran across a recipe on Pinterest called Slow Cooker Salsa Chicken and Black Beans. I don't like black beans so I added organic pinto beans. It was very good in our brown rice tortillas. I added a bit more salsa than the recipe calls for because I don't care very much for chicken unless it is Mamo's fried chicken smothered in country gravy! Yeah, I am every bit of an okie when it comes to fried chicken! Salsa Chicken is a very easy recipe, but I did manage to overcook the chicken a tiny bit. The recipe said for the chicken to cook in your crockpot for 6-8 hours. I thought overnight on low would be fine and it would have been if the moment I got up in the morning, I had turned it on warm. Even though, the chicken was a tad dry, the extra salsa and pinto beans helped and I added a few slices of avocado on top. I also melted pepperjack shreds by Daiya on the tortilla. All in all, it was pretty good!!!! I love Mexican food so anything with tortillas and cheese, I am a happy mama. If you follow me on Pinterest, it is pinned on my Arbonne Bootcamp board. Here is the link for ya'll! http://www.pinterest.com/janillerose/arbonne-bootcamp
So, you're probably wondering if I have lost any more weight. I have reminded myself over and over that this journey isn't primarily about weight loss this week, but who wants to feel like they're killing themselves without losing weight? LOL!! Every Monday, we weigh and send our results to the admin of the FB group. Monday I was down 3.6 pounds. My plan was to hit the exercise hard and really try to lose more this week. I have exercised this week by walking on my treadmill with an incline and Pilates. It has taken all of my self will to walk on that treadmill. I have used MyFitnessPal to track my calories and have made sure I didn't go over 1200 calories. Despite these efforts, I have only lost 1 pound as of today. This week, I have wanted to scream as I would lose 6 ounces and gain 2 ounces and lost 2 ounces and gain 2 ounces. I'm not sure what is causing my body to stubbornly hold onto these pounds. You would think with only taking in 1200 calories and exercising and having no sugar, gluten or dairy, the pounds would fall off. Again, I am perplexed; is it my thyroid or hormones?
The first week of detox, our FB group lost a total of 75 pounds combined with most losing well over 4 pounds. In fact, a couple lost 12 pounds and 8 pounds. And then there is me, struggling over two stubborn ounces. I said I was the exception to the rule, right? This is another reason why we aren't supposed to compare ourselves to each other!!! I was discouraged reading all their weight loss stats. I texted a vent text to my friend Heidi telling her my little sob story. I tell you, it is a blessing to have wise friends who have been here, done this. She pointed out that maybe the others aren't dealing with thyroid issues and haven't dealt with medical issues like I have. She very wisely pointed out that I am an overachiever with losing 3.6 pounds in one week. After all, 2 pounds is super healthy to lose in a week in the long run with keeping the pounds off. She then texted back telling me to cut myself some slack and "a pound or two lost all adds up if you keep going." She also told me she didn't start working out until the third week because her withdrawal symptoms were so extreme and she cried every day. Good to know that although nobody on the group seems to be going through what I'm going through, I have a friend who has experienced all this before me. What an inspiration for me in that over a year and half later, she is still going strong and let me just say, her abs are my dream abs! LOL!
We weigh in again on Monday. While I may not be thrilled at just 4.6 lost, at least I haven't gained 4.6 pounds! The glass is half full right?!!! Hey, at least I'm not craving Dr. Pepper!
13 days down, 15 to go! Have a great weekend, ya'll!

hey there, janille, i have just read through you last two posts! i loved reading them - your openness and honesty...
ReplyDeleteyou're doing amazing and i really admire your dedication. caffeine withdrawl - those two words together sound scary, and you rock for all you're giving this program!
you are beautiful - inside and out, and i wish you all the best!
xoxox
maria
ps - i love your photos on the side of your blog :)